MISSISSIPPI AGRICULTURAL INDUSTRY COUNCIL'S



64th ANNUAL CONVENTION

IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE MISSISSIPPI SEEDSMEN'S ASSOCIATION



JULY 22 – JULY 25, 2025 PERDIDO BEACH RESORT HOTEL ORANGE BEACH, ALABAMA

MAIC OFFICERS 2024-2025

Patrick Woods Peyton Fiser Andrew Wicker Dr. Darrin Dodds Bill Long President First Vice-President Second Vice-President Executive Vice-President Secretary - Treasurer

DIRECTORS

Jared Gray	2025
Justin Green	2025
Matthew Herndon	2025
Lewis Buford	2026
Scott Horton	2026
Christopher Whatley	2026
Clay Gholston	2027
Dane DeWeese	2027
Briley Tomlinson	2027
Bart Bevill	Past President
Hugh Beckham	Advisory Director

PAST PRESIDENTS

Mike Blouin*	1960
W.F. "Bill" Harris*	1962
W.L. Ashley*	1963
R.H. Fisackerly*	1964
John T. Caldwell*	1965
Jack Weber	1966
Lowell Hamilton	1967
James Woodall	1968
Tom Cook*	1969
W.M. Hemeter*	1970
Jerry Clower* (filled unexpired term)	1970
Jerry Clower*	1971
Dwight L. Wesley, Jr.	1972
Don Ford*	1973
Ted Chesire*	1974
Bob Daniels*	1975
Sam Pittman	1976
William E. Byrd*	1977
Jerry Hovas*	1978
John Taylor*	1979
Tommie Burchfield*	1980
Tommy Kennedy*	1981
Bill Geddie*	1982
Dr. W.R. Thompson, Jr.*	1983
James C. Johnson*	1984
Ralph Kahlor*	1985
Jim Stanard	1986
Sam Newsom	1987
Joy McDonald*	1988
Bo Von Kanel*	1989
Jim Magness	1990

Tom James	1991
Jack Clayton	1992
Ben Meriweather*	1993
Karl Underwood*	1994
James Burgess	1995
Bill Long	1996
Wade Stewart	1997
Bubba Burnside*	1998
Kerry Saylors*	1999
Mike Ellis	2000
Donny Whitten	2001
Jonny Spivey	2002
Ned Darbonne	2003
Abby Taylor	2004
Joe Camp	2005
Keylon Gholston	2006
Mike Powell	2007
Mark Brewer	2008
Brett Dixon	2009
David Hodges	2010
Pat Woods	2011
Gill Corban	2012
Ward Bloodworth	2013
Dr. Larry Walton	2014
Hugh Beckham	2015
Cole Gholston	2016
Trey Koger	2017
David Cummins	2018
Dr. Tim Walker	2019
Ben Meriweather, IV	2020-2021
Stephen Walker	2022
Brent Gholston	2023
Bart Bevill	2024
*Deceased	



MISSISSIPPI SEEDSMEN'S ASSOCIATION

MSA OFFICERS 2025-2026

Morgan McDowellPresidentScott Cummings1st Vice PrJustin Green2nd Vice PrRichard TaylorSecretary,

President 1st Vice President 2nd Vice President Secretary/Treasurer

DIRECTORS

Tom Baugh Scott Horton Phillip Woods Matthew Herndon Chase Pearson MAIC 2024-2025 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

- MAIC-Robert H. McCarty Endowed
- <u>Woody Woodson Endowed</u>
- MAIC Butch Alpe Endowed
- MAIC Endowed Scholarship
- Dept. of Plant and Soil Sciences Graduate
 Student Scholarship
- Dept. of Agricultural Science & Plant
 Protection Graduate Student Scholarship
- <u>MAIC-Pat & Gracie Woods Family</u> <u>Excellence Graduate Endowment</u>

MSA 2024-2025 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

- <u>Jamie Taylor Endowed Scholarship</u>
- <u>Ted Cheshire Endowed Scholarship</u>

TUESDAY, JULY 22

8:00 A.M.	ROW CROP UPDATE
	(Grand Reef)

1:00-3:00 P.M. REGISTRATION (Night Reef)

> T-SHIRT DISTRIBUTION Sponsored by BASF

WEDNESDAY, JULY 23

8:00 A.M.	OPENING SESSION (Grand Reef)
	Presiding: Mr. Patrick Woods MAIC President
	Invocation Announcements Necrology Report
8:10 A.M.	Morgan McDowell President, MSA
8:20 A.M.	MSU Graduate Student Awards
8:40 A.M.	Andy Gipson MDAC – Commissioner of Agriculture & Commerce

.

WEDNESDAY, JULY 23

9:00 A.M.	Mike McCormick
	President MS Farm Bureau
9:30 A.M.	BREAK
9:40 A.M.	Government Panel Discussion
	Dr. Marty Fuller
	Cornerstone Gov't Affairs
	Senior Consultant
	Dr. David Shaw
	Mississippi State University
	Provost & Executive V.P.
	Jeff Kuckuck
	National Cotton Council
	Sr. Gov't Relations Director
10:40 A.M.	Matt Branch
	Author "Nobody's Gonna Die Today"
1:00-3:00 P.M.	REGISTRATION
	(Lobby Level)
	T-SHIRT DISTRIBUTION
	Sponsored by BASF
2:00-4:30 P.M.	GRADUATE STUDENT MIXER
	QUIZ BOWL
	(Sand Castle I & II)

.

THURDAY, JULY 24

7:30 A.M.	REGISTRATION (Lobby Level)
7:30 A.M.	GENERAL SESSION (Salon ABCD)
	Presiding: Mr. Peyton Fiser MAIC First Vice-President
	Invocation
7:40 A.M.	Mr. Mark Hudson Ag Container Recycling Council Executive Director
8:15 A.M.	Mr. Richard Gupton Public Policy & Counsel Agricultural Retailers Assn. Senior Vice President
8:50 A.M.	BREAK
9:00am	Dr. Isaac Jumper Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine
9:45 A.M.	ADJOURN

FRIDAY, JULY 25

7:30 A.M. BUSINESS SESSION (Salon ABC)

> Presiding: Patrick Woods MAIC President

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Auditing Awards **Constitution& By-Laws** Convention **F**ducation **Entertainment** Finance Land, Air, & Water Legislative Life Membership Man of the Year Membership Necrology Program Publicity Resolutions Scholarship Welcome

FRIDAY, JULY 25

ELECTION OF OFFICERS & DIRECTORS Comments – Mr. Peyton Fiser Incoming President Presentation of President's Plaque Other Business Announcement

ADJOURN

8:30 A.M. MAIC BOARD MEETING (Boardroom)

ACTIVITIES

WEDNESDAY, JULY 23

9:00 AM – 11:00 P.M.	BABYSITTING &
	GAMEROOM
	(Night Reef I & II)

- All children must have MAIC wristbands to participate.
- Parents are responsible for their children's lunch.

FREE ICE CREAM Sponsored by Loveland

(Lobby Level)

- 1:00 PM 3:00 PM
- 5:30 PM 6:30 PM
- 5:30 PM 6:30 PM

MS SEEDSMEN'S ASSN. RECEPTION & HORS D'OEUVRES (Beach Deck) Music by Mike Ellis

YOUTH PIZZA PARTY (Night Reef I & II)

THURSDAY, JULY 24

9:00 AM – 11:00 P.M.

BABYSITTING & GAMEROOM (Night Reef I & II)

- All children must have MAIC wristbands to participate.
- Parents are responsible for their children's lunch.
- 9:30 A.M. 11:00 A.M. LADIES BRUNCH (Sandcastle I & II)

ACTIVITIES

....

....

THURSDAY, JULY 24

.

10:45 A.M.	GOLF AT COTTON CREEK Lunch at Craft Farms
11:30 A.M.	FOUR MAN SCRAMBLE Shotgun Start
5:30 P.M. – 6:30 P.M.	CHILDREN'S BUFFET (Night Reef I & II)
6:00 P.M. – 6:45 P.M.	PRESIDENT'S RECEPTION Silent Auction for MSU Scholarship (Grand Ballroom)
6:45 P.M. – 8:00 P.M.	BANQUETLive Auction for MSU Scholarship
8:00 P.M. – 11:00 P.M	LIVE BAND Joe Austin & The Tallahatchies

2025 MAIC CONTRIBUTORS

DIAMOND (\$5,000 AND OVER)

Bayer BASF Corteva Horizon Ag Products Syngenta

<u>PLATINUM</u>

(\$2,500 - \$4,999) Ag Tank Solutions Hays-LTI Helena MacroSource Nutrien Simplot The Wax Company UPL

GOLD

(\$1,000 - \$2,499)

Adams Fertilizer Equipment Albaugh, LLC Brandt Central Garden & Pet FMC Greenpoint Ag Innvictis NuFarm Progeny

2025 MAIC CONTRIBUTORS

GOLD CONT'D

Syngenta Seed/NK Seed Tate County Co-op Vive Crop Protection Woods Farm Supply

<u>BRONZE</u> (\$500 - \$999)

Americot Amvac Anchor Ag Solutions Cascio Carolina Eastern-Pensacola Gowan Helm Nutrition J & J Bagging Mississippi Land Bank Monroe County Co-op RiceTec, Inc Stratton Waypoint Analytical YARA North America

MISSISSIPPI AGRICULTURAL INDUSTRY COUNCIL TRIVIA

In 1960, the First Annual Convention was held August 25th – 27th at the Hotel Buena Vista in Biloxi, Mississippi, with Mike Blouin presiding at the General Session.

The name of the organization was Mississippi Soil Fertility & Plant Food Council.

G.A. Trigs was the first Secretary/Treasurer until 1963.

Bill Harris was President in 1962.

In 1963, the name was changed to Mississippi Plant Food Council.

In 1970, the name was changed to Mississippi Agricultural Chemicals Council.

In 1994, the convention was moved to Perdido Beach Resort in Orange Beach, Alabama.

In 1999, the name was changed to Mississippi Agricultural Industry Council, with Kerry Saylors serving as President.

As of 2025, MAIC has funded 6 scholarships benefiting undergraduate and graduate students in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Mississippi State University

FUTURE CONVENTION DATES:

MS Seedsmen's Association TBA

MAIC

July 20, 2026 32nd Year at Perdido Beach Resort 65th Annual Convention

www.maicms.org

Emergency Contact Bill Long 662-299-0775

In the case of an emergency, please contact Perdido Beach Resort at 251-981-9811.

If you have a medical emergency, please call 911.

The nearest hospital is: South Baldwin Regional Medical Center 1613 North McKenzie Street Foley, AL 36535 251-949-3400



-NOTES-